Faith through the Darkness

Faith through the Darkness

 

Don’t let go no matter what

 

Are we going to die?

Sometime not now.

 

Don’t let go no matter what

 

If you died I would want to die too.

So I could be with you.

 

Don’t let go no matter what.

 

You can think of me as a faithless slut if you like.

I’ve taken a new lover.

He can give me what you cannot.

 

Don’t let go no matter what.

 

My Heart was ripped out of me the night he was born.

Don’t ask for sorrow now.

 

Don’t let go no matter what.

 

We’ll take it one step at a time.

Don’t let go.

 

Don’t let go no matter what.

 

So you can be with him.

Hold him close.

Last day on earth.

 

Don’t let go no matter what.

 

Goodness will find the little boy.

It always has.

It will again.

You have my whole heart

 

Don’t give up no matter what.

 

-Found Poem by Zachary Goslin, excerpted from The Road, by Cormac McCarthy (2006). New York: Vintage, pp.  10, 11, 57, 233, 250, 279, 281.

 

Leave a Reply

